Two-time Super Bowl-winning coaches Tom Coughlin and Mike Shanahan and team owners Robert Kraft and Virginia McCaskey were among the 60 semifinalists announced Wednesday for the Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2024.

The Hall’s 12-person Senior Committee trimmed a list of eligible nominated players to 31. Each semifinalist played his last game in professional soccer no later than 1998.

Separately, the Hall’s 12-person Coaches/Contributors Committee narrowed the list of nominees to 29 semifinalists.


New York Giants head coach Tom Coughlin holds up the Vince Lombardi Trophy after his team beat the New England Patriots 21-17 in the NFL Super Bowl XLVI football game on February 5, 2012, in Indianapolis. Two-time Super Bowl-winning coaches Coughlin and Mike Shanahan, owners Robert Kraft of the Patriots and Virginia McCloskey of the Bears, 100, head the 60 semifinalists announced Wednesday, July 12, 2023 for the Pro Football class of 2024. hall of fame (AP Photo/David J. Phillip, File)

Unlike in February, when cornerback Darrelle Revis and offensive lineman Joe Thomas were selected to be enshrined in their first year of Hall of Fame eligibility, none of the 31 players appear set for induction.

Coughlin coached the New York Giants from 2004 to 2015, leading them to Super Bowl victories over the New England Patriots after the 2007 and 2011 seasons.

Shanahan led the Denver Broncos to Super Bowl titles after the 1997 and 1998 seasons. He went 178-144 overall with three teams, including a 46-10 mark from 1996-1998, an NBA winning record. NFL in a span of three years.


Mike Shanahan high fives with fans

Former Denver Broncos head coach Mike Shanahan greets fans at halftime during an NFL football game against the Las Vegas Raiders, Sunday, Oct. 17, 2021, in Denver, after being inducted into the Broncos’ ring of honor. Coaches Shanahan and Tom Coughlin, two-time Super Bowl winners, owners Robert Kraft of the Patriots and Virginia McCloskey of the Bears, 100, head the 60 semifinalists announced Wednesday, July 12, 2023, for the 2024 class of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. (AP Photo/Jack Dempsey, File)

McCaskey, who turned 100 on Jan. 5, became principal owner of the Chicago Bears in 1983 after the death of her father, Hall of Famer George Halas.

Kraft has owned the New England Patriots since 1994. His teams have won six Super Bowls, all of them under coach Bill Belichick and quarterback Tom Brady.

The respective selection committees will now consider the candidates and vote to determine 12 finalists from each group. The results of those votes will be announced on July 27.


Tom Brady shakes hands with Robert Krafts

Tom Brady #12 shakes hands with owner Robert Kraft of the New England Patriots before a game against the Miami Dolphins at Gillette Stadium on December 29, 2019 in Foxborough, Massachusetts. (Adam Glanzman/Getty Images)

Members of the Coaches/Contributors Committee will meet on August 15 to select a candidate for final consideration for next year’s Hall of Fame class.

The Senior Committee will meet on August 22 and may select up to three candidates for final consideration.

Revis, Thomas, Ronde Barber, Chuck Howley, Joe Klecko, Ken Riley, Zach Thomas, DeMarcus Ware and Don Coryell will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on August 3.